Maestro Gerard Schwarz to Conduct ‘Grand Finale’ at Cape Cod Chamber Music Festival on August 28th

World- Renowned Conductor and Composer to Lead Performance of Major Stravinsky Work

Gerard Schwarz, the internationally acclaimed conductor and composer, will lead a performance of Stravinsky’s ‘L’histoire du Soldat Suite’ (‘The Soldier’s Tale’) at the 13th and final concert of the Cape Cod Chamber Music Festival, on Friday, August 28, at 7:30 p.m., in Wellfleet (First Congregational Church, 200 Main Street).

“We are thrilled by Jerry’s ability to join us for the ‘Grand Finale’ of this, our 36th season,” said Jon Nakamatsu and Jon Manasse, the Festival’s artistic directors. “He is widely and justifiably admired for his interpretation of 19th and 20th century, plus 21st century, works – by Russian, as well as European and American composers – and we are certain his interpretation of this monumental Stravinsky work will be both exciting and memorable.”

A highly versatile and prolific musician, Schwarz is noted for his moving performances, innovative programming, and extensive catalog of recordings— numbering nearly 350, and ranging from the Baroque through the Romantic to the contemporary (with more than 300 world premieres to his credit).

Schwarz currently serves as music director of the All-Star Orchestra – an ensemble of top musicians from America’s leading orchestras featured in a new television series airing throughout the U.S. on public television – as well as the Eastern Music Festival in North Carolina, which he has taken to new heights of attendance and innovativeness during his tenure. In addition, he is the Jack Benaroya Conductor Laureate of the Seattle Symphony, an ensemble he led as music director for 26 years until his retirement in 2011, and is a much-sought-after guest conductor for major orchestras throughout the world.

‘L’histoire du Soldat Suite’ is a nine-movement piece performed by a septet: Nicholas Kitchen, violin; Tony Falanga, bass; Jon Manasse, clarinet; Cynde Iverson, bassoon; Kevin Cobb, trumpet; John D. Rojak, trombone; and Hans Morrison, percussion. In addition, the piece features three speaking roles: Narrator (Daniel Okrent); The Soldier (Nicholas Delbanco); and The Devil (Wendy Doniger).

The ‘Grand Finale’ program will close with another major 20th century work: Dohnanyi’s Sextet in C Major for Piano, Clarinet, Horn and String Trio, Opus 37.

Festival concerts are performed in venues from Provincetown to Cotuit, to assure maximum accessibility to audiences throughout Cape Cod. In addition to Wellfleet, the venues include:

Provincetown Art Association and Museum: 460 Commercial Street
Orleans: United Methodist Church: 73 Main Street
Chatham: First Congregational Church: 650 Main Street (at the Rotary)
Dennis Union Church: 713 Main Street (Route 6A)
Cotuit Center for the Arts: 4404 Falmouth Road (Route 28)
South Yarmouth: Cultural Center of Cape Cod: 307 Old Main Street

Prior to the ‘Grand Finale,’ remaining Festival concerts include:

Friday, August 21: ‘The Jupiter Residency III’: First Congregational Church, Wellfleet, 7:30 p.m. Brian Zeger, piano; Jupiter String Quartet (Nelson Lee, violin, Meg Freivogel, violin; Liz Freivogel, viola; Daniel McDonough, cello).
Program: Schubert: Notturno (Adagio) in E-flat Major, Opus 148 (D. 897)
Bartok: String Quartet No. 4
Brahms: Quartet in C Minor for Piano, Violin, Viola and Cello, Opus 60

Tuesday, August 25: ‘Amazing Brass’: Cotuit Center for the Arts, 7:30 p.m. American Brass Quintet (Kevin Cobb, trumpet; Louis Hanzlik, trumpet; Eric Reed, horn; Michael Powell, trombone; John D. Rojak, bass trombone).
Program: Thomas Morley: Elizabethan Ayres (edited by Raymond Mase)
Ludwig Maurer: Five Pieces
David Sampson: Chesapeake (2010)
Stephen Foster: Suite from The Social Orchestra (edited by Raymond
Josquin Des Prés: Chansons (edited by Raymond Mase)
Joan Tower: Copperwave (2006)

Wednesday, August 26: The J. Francesca C. Rullman Concert; ‘Borromeo’s 25th’: First Congregational Church, Chatham, 7:30 p.m. Borromeo String Quartet (Nicholas Kitchen, violin; Kristopher Tong, violin; Mai Motobuchi, viola; Yeesun Kim, cello).
Program: Beethoven: String Quartet in A Minor, Opus 132
Schubert: Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 (“Death and the Maiden”)

Friday, August 28: ‘Grand Finale’: First Congregational Church, Wellfleet, 7:30 p.m. Nicholas Kitchen, violin; Mai Motobuchi, viola; Yeesun Kim, cello; Tony Falanga, bass; Jon Manasse, clarinet; Eric Reed, horn; Cynde Iverson, bassoon; Kevin Cobb, trumpet; John D. Rojak, trombone; Ted Atkatz, percussion; Jon Nakamatsu, piano; Daniel Okrent, narrator; Nick Delbanco, the Soldier; Wendy Doniger, the Devil.
Program: Stravinsky: L’histoire du Soldat Suite (The Soldier’s Tale) (1920)
Dohnányi: Sextet in C Major for Piano, Clarinet, Horn and String Trio,
Opus 37

Ticket prices for all concerts are as follows: $38 general admission; $15 for college students (with ID); FREE for attendees 18 and under. General admission to three or more concerts: $36 per ticket.

Special first-time ticket buyer’s price: Details available by calling Festival office.

Admission to August 24 Pot Luck Picnic: Free, but requires RSVP to reserve a place and agree on food to bring.

Schedule & Tickets

Support the Festival

The festival is supported by generous financial contributions, volunteers, housing providers and service donations.

Latest News

CCCMF Preview in the Cape Cod Times

The Cape Cod Times featured a preview article about the Festival's 2021 Season in their July 29th edition. In addition to previewing the specific concerts, the article includes selections from author Keith Power's conversation with new Executive Director Paul...

read more

CCCMF in the News!

The Cape Cod Chamber Music Festival has recently been featured in numerous publications and on the radio. To listen to an interview with new Executive Director Paul Schwendener and Executive Director Emeritus Elaine Lipton by WOMR DJ Felice Coral, click here. To hear...

read more